Hatch green chili with tomatillos

greenchile2It’s Hatch green chili season, and I’ve surprisingly never taken advantage of this time of year. I constantly lament the lack of quality Mexican food in Boulder, so I’ve gotten pretty good at concocting my own spicy creations. Fantastic green chili is something I have surprisingly never experienced outside of Texas. Colorado, you have let me down once again! I however figured that homemade green chili couldn’t be too hard to throw together – it requires my favorite cooking technique: roasting! One of my best veggie tips is that when in doubt about how to prepare a vegetable, just throw it in the oven at 400 degrees and see what happens – the result is usually delicious. I also chose to add tomatillos, because they were there, and I figured the flavors would go well together. There is usually a bit of acidity in green chili that’s provided by lime juice, but I feel the tanginess from the tomatillos is a really unique substitute. So here it is, one of my simplest (ingredient-wise) recipes to date.

Ingredients

  • 16  mild or medium heat hatch green chilies
  • 7 tomatillos
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 3 large shallots, diced (a small onion would work fine as well)
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • salt

Instructions

greenchile1Pre-heat your oven to 400 degrees. Wash the chilies and peeled tomatillos (casing removed), and place on a baking sheet. Roast for about (or up to) an hour, until the tomatillos are soft and the green chile skin is dark and blistery. Let cool for a bit, then remove the stems from the chilies and tomatillos. Then, try your best to remove both the seeds and the skin from the green chilies. I still found it difficult to get all of the skin off so I left on the parts that refused to come off. A little extra fiber never hurt anyone! Once the chilies are peeled, roughly dice them.

In a medium saucepan, heat the olive oil over medium-low heat. Add the diced shallots and a pinch of salt to help the onions cook down faster. Cook down until they are translucent and starting to brown a bit. I call this state ‘partially caramelized.’ Once you’re happy with the shallots, add the garlic and cook for about a minute. Then add in your tomatillos and diced green chilies, along with the vegetable broth, and stir well. You can adjust the amount of liquid to your own taste.  Also adjust the salt seasoning to an appropriate level (will vary depending on saltiness of the broth used). I also used an immersion blender to partially blend my mixture to make it more sauce or salsa-like. I wanted it a bit chunky but also pretty thick. I put my green chili on eggs, nachos, tacos, and taco salad! It’s awesome on almost anything that could use a little kick.

greenchile3

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sandy Skaalure says:

    Sounds yummy! I am planning to make green chili stew tonight with some of the green chilies I bought recently. Love them!!!

Leave a Reply

